The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 18, 2002, 05:08 PM   #1
Blue Duck357
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 6, 2000
Posts: 1,460
Primer problem

Yeah looks like I'm going to be a pest for awhile sorry

Just set up my SDB without a hitch and started making my first rounds. Only problem is apparently being a bit gentle or short stroking the handle on a few of my very first rounds lead to several high primers.

My question is can these primers be safely fully seated by just running them through the priming station again or will this cause mass explosion injuries etc...

Thanks for any help!
Blue Duck357 is offline  
Old August 18, 2002, 05:19 PM   #2
larryw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2002
Posts: 336
These are loaded rounds? Its not worth the risk reseating the primer. In the unlikely event that one goes off, it will create more than a noisy bang that simply scares the snot out of you. Remember, you've got primer and powder sealed in a metallic container: ignition would be a bad thing.

Pull the bullets, empty the powder and then you can carefully reseat.
larryw is offline  
Old August 18, 2002, 05:26 PM   #3
HerbG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2000
Posts: 111
Well..........I almost wish you hadn't asked that question! Over the years, I've reseated some primers in loaded ammunition when necessary, but I am NOT suggesting that anybody else do so. I always use a hand priming tool so I can determine just how much pressure I'm applying. Above all, I wear heavy industrial strength safety glasses when priming, and I do not hold the priming tool anywhere near my head or torso. Probably not completely safe, but so far I've gotten away with it.
HerbG is offline  
Old August 18, 2002, 05:52 PM   #4
Blue Duck357
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 6, 2000
Posts: 1,460
Should have been more clear the rounds are not loaded, this was just when I was getting the feel of the machien.

Safety glasses? Yep, I actually forgot to get them but had to drive 26 miles round trip into town after I thought I was all setup and ready to go

We get used to ignoring lawyer warnings, but several folks here made it clear these were actually needed.
Blue Duck357 is offline  
Old August 18, 2002, 07:14 PM   #5
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 14,418
Whew! I thought you were talking about trying that with loaded rounds. If they're not loaded yet, sure run 'em through again, without any primers in the tube obviously. Or better yet get a hand primer tool (RCBS, Lee, etc.).
Mal H is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2013 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06483 seconds with 7 queries