The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old August 4, 2002, 09:51 AM   #1
Khornet

The BluesMan does it again!

Check him out at
http://www.americasvoices.org/archiv...rDJ_080302.htm

A strong voice for our rights!
Old August 4, 2002, 05:01 PM   #3
George Hill
Staff Alumnus

Nicely done.
Old August 4, 2002, 05:49 PM   #4
Miss Demeanors

Nice job
Old August 4, 2002, 05:55 PM   #5
Blackhawk

Old August 4, 2002, 05:58 PM   #6
BPNovum

Thank you for the reminder

I was touched to read the Pieces of Brass. You see, on Christmas Eve 2000 my father passed away. He was a career Air Force officer and retired as a Lt. Col. At his memorial service the Honor Guard from Lackland AFB provided full military honors including the folding and presentation of his flag, the playing of taps and the 21 gun salute.

Being an Air Force vet myself, I had attended military funerals and memorials in the past. I have always found them to be gut renching but very healing. This one was even more so.

Afterwards, one of my relative (Active Duty AF) came up to me and presented me with some of the brass shell casings (.223 in this case). My stomach tied up in a big knot, my heart jumped into my throat and tears filled my eyes. Today those "Pieces of Brass" are among my most prized possessions. They are a reminder, along with the folded flag, of what a great man my father was and to the service he gave this country and him teaching me to do the same.

Thank you for the reminder. I can't think of it often enough.

Bob Price
Blue Wonder Gun Care Products
www.BlueWonder.us
bprice@novumsolutions.com
Old August 4, 2002, 07:00 PM   #7
falconer

Dave,

It is a rare occurance that something makes me cry. Your words during the eulogy were one of those rare things as well as your words in the article.

tom
Old August 4, 2002, 07:46 PM   #8
Sisco

Beautiful piece.