The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 7, 2002, 06:17 AM   #1
Lone Star

Universal carbine, Cal. .30

My father, who is 83 and wanted a rifle of light weight and little recoil, bought a Universal .30 carbine. Quality seems higher than I'd have thought, really pretty good. (I have little experience of "off-brand" guns.)

He's lost the magazine. Will GI carbine magazines fit? Will those made for Plainfield guns? Are GI 30-round "bannana clips" selling for ridiculous sums these days? Who makes new commercial magazines; GI ones are getting pretty old...maybe Universal is still in business? The receiver shows them in Hialeah, FL. A price reference book I have shows only a Universal in Arkansas, now out of business.

Anyone here have any experience with these Universal carbines?

Thanks.
Lone Star
Old June 7, 2002, 06:44 AM   #2
ATTICUS

I had one many years ago. As I recall, they will take any USGI (or aftermarket) .30 carbine mag. Fit and function were really pretty good on the one I had.
Old June 7, 2002, 07:30 AM   #3
Snowdog

I've had my Universal M1 carbine going on 10 years now. The recoil springs seem to be tired (Bolt catches to the rear, grease will not clear up) but overall it's a wonderful little carbine. It will use GI issue mags just fine.

As you may know by now, the Universal doesn't incorporate the tappet gas system that was found on GI issue M1 carbines. However, this doesn't seem to be a problem for those who don't intend to take the Universal M1 into sub-zero temperatures.

One aspect about the Universal I find so surprising it the accuracy. I still cannot get over how accurate these little rifles are within 100 yards.

I don't know what they are fetching these days, I paid $160 for mine with an old Marlin 60 in trade in '93.

Brevity Is The Soul of Wit.

-Shakespeare-
Old June 7, 2002, 09:01 AM   #4
Marko Kloos
Staff