The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 28, 2000, 09:30 AM   #1
SA Scott

Hoo Yah! Love it!

Fired about 50 rounds of mixed loads, with no reliability problems. Fairly accurate out to 25-30 yds. The gun is surprisingly light & handy, even fully loaded.

The only problem I have is cycling the action fully/rapidly with my weak left hand. I'm thinking a pistol grip forearm may help me. I've looked at Choate's offering. Any other suggestions?

I'd also like to find a flashlight mount and conventional flashlight with a pressure switch. This was mentioned in a couple of other threads. Any ideas?

Thanks,

SA Scott
Old March 1, 2000, 01:26 PM   #2
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

IMO, Scott, a little more practice will do more for you than that PG gizmo. Remember, shotguns usually cycle better if they're racked hard, not babied.
Old March 1, 2000, 02:23 PM   #3
SA Scott

Thanks, Dave.

I'm new to shotgunning, so I've appreciate all of your input on the board (even though I didn't buy an 870 ).

My problem is that my hand tends to slip of the forearm when cycling from the shoulder, I assume from weak grip and that the action length is just long enough to strain my reach. I thought the PG forearm might help. Shorter buttstock, maybe?

I'll certainly keep putting rounds through the gun either way.

Thanks again,

SA Scott
Old March 1, 2000, 04:21 PM   #4
jcoyoung

I think the forearm for the "sporting" Mossbergs comes back farther than the HD shotguns. They are made of wood (or wood like material?) so they won't look right.
Old March 1, 2000, 05:47 PM   #5
monoboy

Welcome to the ranks with your 590A1.

As far as cycling, what Dave McC said. When I used my friends 870, I had similiar problems (I'm always respectful of others tools, and therefore, more gentle). When I got my own, I rack it hard, and it works fine.