The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 9, 2005, 04:50 AM   #1
cdc

Best Walmart ammo to buy for practice and Trap

Since I am new to shotguns I need to buy probably hundreds of rounds for practicing at the range and possibly Trap (if the local gun clubs allow me to use my Tactical 870 for Trap shooting). I have read that Walmart is the place to buy decent and yet inexpensive 12 ga. Trap/practice loads. I have seen Federal, Winchester and a couple of other not known to me brands on sale for about $15 per 100 rounds. These $15 per 100 round loads usually are anywhere from 7 1/2 to 8 shot with typically 1oz - 1 1/8oz loads.

I am assuming the above are the right ammo for practice and Trap shooting, is this correct? Also for a Remington 870 with VangComp 18" barrel (smooth bore fixed choke), which brand or type of ammo is recommended and what to stay away from because it is just plain crap? I do not mind buying smaller quantity of ammo then patterning. Also if there is somewhere else to buy good quality ammo for the above mentioned purpose, please share.

Thanks, this board has been quite helpful

cdc
Old September 9, 2005, 07:50 AM   #2
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

All of the value pack stuff will work for the purpose. Federal may have the nod for the tightest patterns, but the Gun Clubs from Remington and the Winchester stuff works also.

Estate target loads are sometimes found at a great price. Made by Federal, it's pretty good stuff.

Off brand ammo is a morass. Some is great stuff and a real bargain, some has dead soft, unround shot, and powder that shoots very dirty.

Do pattern, it's as essential as oxygen....
Old September 10, 2005, 01:53 AM   #3
cdc

Thanks for the info Dave McC. I am also looking for LE ammo from Remington and Federal. Aside Ammoman, do you know where I can purchase this type of ammo? I am looking specifically for:

* Federal LE 132 OO w/Flight Control Wad