The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 24, 2009, 10:01 PM   #1
look2thehorizon

Would you paint an 870's barrel and reciever?

Brand new to this forum! Seems pretty cool...

I have a WingMaster (don't worry, I don't want to paint the WM!!!) and have been shooting clays and upland for a while now. I have some buddies who want me to get into ducks, and I've been training my new lab pup to be ready for this season. I'm ready to go, except... I just don't have it in me to drag my WM's walnut stock thru the muck.

A guy I know has a 870 Express Super Mag that he wants to get rid of for around $150. It shoots great, cycles great (I shot it myself) but the barrel and receiver have a bit of rust. That appears to me to be just cosmetic, but the wood stock is pretty beat up too. So I got to thinking...

My potential duck buddies are fanatical about camo. They think a black gun is like a neon sign to ducks. I disagree. Anyway, what if I bought a camo stock and forend, and some Krylon Camo spray paint, and sprayed over the rust to give the exposed metal a DIY camo paint job. I'd have a pretty decent, indestructable duck gun for under $250.

What do you think?
Old September 24, 2009, 10:29 PM   #2
murphyboy88

well i havent been here long either but i would say go for it as long as you dont get any paint in the action you should be good.being a waterfowl hunter myself i would have to disagree with your friends about a black gun.... in my experience movement is your worst enemy... if you cant hold still you will have problems... happy hunting
Old September 24, 2009, 11:01 PM   #3
look2thehorizon

I guess my biggest concern is the paint chipping off. Or causing a problem with the way the gun functions.

Help a new guy out...
Old September 24, 2009, 11:05 PM   #4
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam