The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 22, 2008, 01:32 PM   #1
kristop64089

Isn't it best to have your scale level before you weigh?

I am a reloading noob, so bear with me. I am assembling all my components, I recieved as a gift, a used RCBS 5-10. I was reading the destructions, and noticed, it doesn't address leveling the scale, as the beam lays.

I work with "level" all day, I see this as causing a false reading. Should I level the scale(where possible) then take my reading.

I also noticed my powder pan was full of shot? is this right. How do i know if I have enough. Since these are calibrated, this has to be important. Is thee a shot count, or a preloaded deal I could buy if needed?

Oh the questions will be rolling in, the further I get.
Old August 22, 2008, 02:49 PM   #2
lll Otto lll

Quote:
I recieved as a gift, a used RCBS 5-10. I was reading the destructions, and noticed, it doesn't address leveling the scale, as the beam lays.
Sure it does. It's in the section "How to Zero Balance The Scale"

http://www.rcbs.com/downloads/instru...structions.pdf
Old August 22, 2008, 02:55 PM   #3
SDC

Yes, the scale must be zeroed on a level surface in order to get a reliable reading; they use the shot in the pan to ensure that all the pans are a given specific weight, and the "zero" is taken from that weight.
Old August 22, 2008, 04:07 PM   #4
kristop64089

I'm missing that page, thanks.

So do I zero with the pans on the arm, or without? I would zero with them on, but just checking
Old August 22, 2008, 05:25 PM   #5
PCJim