The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old July 31, 2014, 06:32 PM   #1
Gaitsofheaven

I'm a newbie and have a question - coyotes!

I live in North Carolina farmland and have seen several coyotes on the edges of the woods as I'm mowing my pastures. I just ordered a military shotgun scabbard to mount on my tractor so I'm prepared next time. My question is this: I'd like to use my Browning .20 ga pump with #4 buckshot with a full choke since they're going to be pretty close - 40-50 yds. This will be my first time trying to nail a coyote - used to hunt upland game birds in my home state of Michigan. Is it doable? I already have the gun and don't really want to spend the money for another.

P.S. Before y'all go thinking I'm a wimp for using a .20 ga, I am a female and I feel comfortable with this gun.

Thanks for any input/advice!
Old July 31, 2014, 07:57 PM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

Probably work okay. My only shotgun experience of that sort was on a bobcat at about 25 yards. Full-choke 12-gauge, high-brass 7-1/2 shot. One somersault and a flop.

Wouldn't hurt to do some practicing to get a good feel for sight picture for 40/50 yards.
Old July 31, 2014, 08:24 PM   #3
Gaitsofheaven

Thanks, and I think I will practice a bit before I get out there!
Old August 1, 2014, 06:01 AM   #4
Sure Shot Mc Gee

Oh I don't think you'll have to worry about #4 buck not doing its job. You'll be doing the neighborhood a favor by removing a couple of them mangy dogs. Its kind of a trade off though. You'll gain a fawn or two occasionally in the woods but loose a good mouser._
BTW. Welcome to the TFLF Ms.
Old August 1, 2014, 06:51 AM   #5
Gaitsofheaven

Thanks! If I bag any, I'll post a pic! Wish me luck (I know that's what it'll take on these guys!). I also heard if you give a couple barks as he starts to turn away, he may stop and look for a few seconds and give you a better chance. Here's hoping!
Old August 1, 2014, 07:32 AM   #6
jmr40