The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 10, 2001, 04:02 PM   #1
VTR996

needed crimp

I'm new to the rifle reloading,I'm reloading .223 and haven't seen where it is crucial to crimp or not. My lee directions say it's okay and my speer #13 says no cannalure no crimp, who do I believe? I'm using WW748 and BLC2 w std.and mag. primers cause Hornady don't list the mag. primer w/these powders but speer does.
I know with pistol ammo crimping makes a difference for various reasons ,how bout rifle?
Old October 10, 2001, 04:36 PM   #2
Long Path

Kinda depends on your purpose, as well as what your results are. If you're shooting target, and get good results w/out a crimp, forget it.

If you're loading for hunting or the like, a crimp might be a good idea.

Be sure and make allowance for the slight increase in pressure when you crimp.

W/some loads, a crimp can bring about more uniform burning of the powder, which is why it's not a bad idea to experiment. Crimps are generally more important with auto rifles and with tube magazines. You don't say what you're shooting your .223 ammo out of?

--L.P.
Old October 10, 2001, 05:05 PM   #3
pwiz

You really don't need a crimp on a .223. the rifle doesn't have any sort of recoil that would move the bullet and it would be a bit hard to move the bullet even if you carried a bunch in your pocket while hunting. The military expects the worst, so they crimp their bullets, crimp their primers, and waterproof their primers after seating too. Then you can put them in mud and water and still shoot them. I hope you don't have that kind of need.

pwiz
Old October 13, 2001, 06:15 AM   #4
Dogjaw