The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 8, 2010, 07:34 AM   #1
chrisflhtc

Reloading for a .40 carbine

Hi guys I am new to reloading and this site and want to reload .40's for My Beretta CX4 Storm(16 inch Barrel)

I plan to load for plinking and possible hunting. I have been doing a lot of reading and searching and have been told that some of the slower powders will preform better. I am looking at longshot,autocomp and possibly HS6 I want to go as high a velocity as practical with out stressing the firearm too much. I think the 155 gr Hornady XTP may be the projectile I am going to go with unless there is a better one. I only want to load one type for both plinking and hunting so I don't hart to keep changing my set up.

If I am going about this the wrong way I am sure one of you can set me straight. TIA.
I am really enjoying reading all the info here however there is just so much info I am being a bit overwelmed. Thanks
Chris
Old December 8, 2010, 08:58 AM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Welcome to the forum.

QuickLOAD thinks Alliant Power Pistol will be your best velocity-for-pressure producer with your bullet weight. Comments on hunting suitability will depend on what you are hunting.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old December 8, 2010, 11:58 AM   #3
AlaskaMike

I would also highly recommend Power Pistol. I would think that a 155 grain bullet would be a little light though. I'd probably go with 180s.
Old December 8, 2010, 07:30 PM   #4
Ozzieman

Can’t help you with the 40, but mine in 9mm did some amazing accuracy (under 3 inches at 100 yards) with Penn bullets cast lead 147 and titegroup powder. One suggestion, don’t load light. Stay up in the upper loads what every your loading.