The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 1, 2010, 10:29 PM   #1
IthacaDS

Good Brass

I'm just getting into the world of reloading.... and i am wondering about the proper brass that i should acquire. Up until now i have just bought boxes of factory loads and plan on reloading them. My reasoning for this is that i will be able to keep the brass, have some fun shooting those loads and not waist my money on shooting brass that is not fire formed to my gun yet... Is my thinking correct? And if not, any advise?
Old February 1, 2010, 11:18 PM   #2
medalguy

You don't say whether you are shooting rifle or pistol, or the type weapon, there's a difference. Pistol brass is always full length resized so you may as well buy once fired brass and load it up. With rifle brass, there are two ways to look at it. For an autoloader you always need to full length resize, so again buy once fired. With a bolt rifle, the theory is that you can fireform to your own particular chamber, then neck size only for a couple of firings. The problem is that you still need to full length resize and trim every few times.

Personally, I generally buy once fired brass and load it unless I can get some very good deals on factory ammo.

Hope this helps some.
Old February 2, 2010, 02:31 AM   #3
Jim243

It depends on who's commercial ammo you are buying to shoot up. Remington and Winchester brass are pretty good to reload. Blazer and Wolf are a NO NO because they are steel. If you are going to fireform your cases, I would recommend that you purchase new cases for that purpose, yes I know that you have to waste a bullet to get the new case fireformed. But if you are going to go through everything you need to do to make MATCH ammo, you would be better off starting with better brass (Norma or Lapua).

Otherwise just blast away with whatever you have and full length size.

Just my 2 cents.
Jim