The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old November 28, 2005, 06:51 PM   #1
Shoebox

'06 Camp Perry questions.

I'm thinking about going just for the experience, but I'm a bit confused about what matches are right for me. The names and requirements for different matches have me a bit unsure of what I would be eligible for.

I would be shooting my M1A Super Match. I am a rookie, but don't mind coming in at the bottom of the barrell. I want to take in the whole experience and try my hand against the best of the best. Of course, I can't spend a month there, but want to participate in as much as possible to make the trip worth the time and effort.

In short, what matches should a guy like me be looking at?

Thanks

Steve
Old November 28, 2005, 08:52 PM   #2
General P.

Something must have changed. Way back when I went, it was necessary to win state championship or at least score high enough to be on be on the state team. Think this was true for military also, to be on their team. Perhaps there are other matches than what I remember.
Old November 28, 2005, 09:28 PM   #3
ClarkEMyers

Talk to your State Association

Talk to your State Association

At very best you will want to be a classified shooter well before you go - the various CMP/Garand matches where you would be shooting with other novices would be a useful introduction back home. Experience working the pits would be really good too.
Old November 28, 2005, 10:01 PM   #4
hIPSHOT33

I have been there several times with the Army team ,and as far as I know you can enter any of the endividual matches that you would like to ,including the 1000 yard Leach or Wimbledon also the Leg match (excelance in compition match) to earn points toward being Distinguished. Its lots of fun and you will enjoy shooters row in the evenings.