The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 25, 2014, 08:48 PM   #1
ekslayer

30-30 bullet options

I am new to reloading. I just picked up a bunch of supplies from a friend of mine to reload for my savage bolt action 30-30. I have everything except for bullets. Since I have to buy some anyway I might as well ask this question. What bullets would anyone recommend? Im gonna start off with some target rounds but I wanna load some hunting rounds also. Im looking to maximize range and effectiveness. Im trying to weigh the options for different nose types, weights and all.
Old February 26, 2014, 01:07 AM   #2
hoghunting

Since your rifle is a bolt action instead of a lever action, you don't have to use flat nose bullets as you don't have a tubular magazine. I would try Hornady's 150 gr SST as it will work for a target round and will work very well as a hunting round with the slower velocity of the 30-30.

Welcome to the forum.
Old February 26, 2014, 09:39 AM   #3
jaguarxk120

One problem is the COL and what the magazine will take. Bullets seated too far out and they won't load into the magazine. The other is the chamber throat and how far you can seat bullets out.
Old February 26, 2014, 02:44 PM   #4
mikld

For my single shot 30-30 I have loaded bullets from 140 gr. LFN to 168 gr. Nosler Match bullets and have loaded a lot of M2 pulls, 147-150 gr FMJ and FMJBT. For load data I went with Contender data and of course started at starting loads...

Got some pretty accurate loads with the 168s, in my Handi Rifle, a bit under 2" @ 100 yds. and lots of good shooting with the surplus bullets...
Old February 28, 2014, 02:03 AM   #5
1ruralmailman