The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old August 29, 2011, 03:40 PM   #1
MK688

German P38 Question

Hey Guys!

Interesting story and I was hoping you guys could possibly help me out with the value of a P38 I was recently given.

My elderly neighbor lost her husband recently and she is in failing health.

She approached me about having a gun that she would like to give me. She stated that since I was a State Trooper, she would be happy for me to have it.

She gave me the gun, but I have little knowledge of it's value. She told me that her father gave her the gun appx 25 years ago. She advised that he brought it back from Germany when he returned from WWII. Other than this information, I have no other details about the gun.

She had the pistol in a sack, wrapped in an oily rag. The gun has one magazine and looks to be in excellent condition. I also had an old, black holster that appears to have been modified a bit.

The gun looks to have all matching numbers: The left side of the slide shows P 38 , ac 42, and 8279h. The left side frame has 8279h and a small symbol with the number 359 under it. The barrel has the number 8279 with an h under the numbers. The right side of the slide has two more of the unidentifiable symbols with the number 359 under the symbols.

The gun has one magazine with no identifiable marks.

Any thoughts, experience, value of the gun, etc, would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Old August 29, 2011, 03:44 PM   #2
mapsjanhere

You have a P-38 made by Walther (AC) in 1942 with the correct WaA stamp for the period and location (359). The later is the military acceptance mark.
Value around $500, maybe more if really in top condition.
Old August 29, 2011, 07:53 PM   #3
grey sky

If my recall is intact this was the first double action auto. DA on the first triger pull. Durable, dependable, a pleasure to shoot. She must think highly of you. Get an extra mag.
Old August 30, 2011, 07:51 AM   #4