The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 5, 2013, 06:59 PM   #1
Ashbane

Powder Measure consistency problems, L-n-L powder dispensor

I'm new to reloading. I've been collecting the parts all year, starting with the Hornady Classic press kit back in February. I finally got everything I needed to reload 45 ACP and successfully loaded and fired a couple dozen starting loads, some 230gr Berry's RN's and also some 185gr Hornady XTP HP's that I got free for buying the kit. Now on these first few loads I painstakingly measured the powder (Longshot for the Berry's .452's and Titegroup for the Hornady .451's) for each case with the little twist-out powder measure that came with the kit. Every case was exact.

Now that I'm more confident and working up to the next load (up to 5.8gr of Titegroup for the 185gr XTP's from the 5.5gr start load) I'm trying to use the L-n-L powder measure and everything that the powder touches masses large amounts of powder stuck to it. The plastic tube, the inside of the dispenser, the tip it comes out of, the plastic funnel, everything. When I try to dump it back into the bottle it ends up everywhere on my desk as I try in vain to carefully get it back up and out of the tube.

The worst part, though, is I can't get reliable powder measurements for more than 3-4 shots at a time, and I am using the pistol sized rotor/meter I realized weeks ago I needed to buy separately. If I measure each shot and dump it back in the tube the shots will vary +- .3 grains, and with the 185gr XTP's that start at 5.5gr and max at 6.1 that's the difference between starting and redline loads on the chart when I'm shooting for 5.8gr. The 5.5gr starting loads did well but barely recoiled the slide on my FNX-45 so I'm shooting just a bit higher than starting loads for it.