The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old March 30, 2014, 06:55 PM   #1
Sid

Cleaning the Magazine of a 1903 Colt

I have a type 1 model of this pistol in .32 ACP which I shoot regularly. Over the last 15 years I have shot more than 10,000 rounds through it without any problems. About half of these were hand loads. But the magazine has never been cleaned and it must be filled with crud.

I cannot disassemble it because the base plate is welded in place. Is there some way for me to clean this? I need some advice on this and would especially like to hear from guys who own this pistol. TIA
Old March 30, 2014, 07:30 PM   #2
Chris_B

I've been dreading this myself, actually, for my 1920 manufactured 1903. I've thought of compressed air
Old March 30, 2014, 07:37 PM   #3
Brian48

Are there witness holes in the mag? If so, you can disassemble the mag the same way you disassemble a standard 7rd 1911 mag with the welded base.

Load the mag to 2/3 capacity until you have only have one or two holes still unoccupied. Insert a dowl, small screw driver, allen wrench, etc. through the witness hole to prevent the spring from moving. Unload the mag and tap mag while holding it upside down. The follower should drop out, but you might need a small screwdriver to nudge it a bit. Once the follower is out, carefully pull out the dowl from the witness hole, making sure the spring doesn't shoot across the room (or in your face). You should be able to clean out the mag now.

Re-assembly should be straight forward and much easier.
Old March 30, 2014, 08:08 PM   #4
James K
Member In Memoriam

It is even simpler to use a pencil with an eraser. Use the eraser end to push the follower down until it (the follower) reaches the second witness hole. Insert a pointed tool (like a nail) between the follower and the spring.