The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 12, 2008, 03:22 AM   #1
AZAK

Location: the object towards which the action of the sea is directed
Just how much does "grouping" brass by manufacturer effect accuracy?

Is there a noticeable difference in accuracy in rifle and handgun loads, when brass is consistent; as in from the same manufacturer?

When sorting/cleaning/inspecting brass, do you separate out the different brands?

For instance, I have noticed that in Federal .45 auto cases, that I have, that the flash hole is larger in diameter than in other brands of brass, again that I have. Will this make a noticeable difference in loading/accuracy?

Thanks! As I am still relatively new to reloading, still have to glean some wisdom from you experienced mentors; for a long time to come! And just trying to get into good habits from the start.

Now, go figure...
Old August 12, 2008, 05:26 AM   #2
darkgael

brass

There are shooters who, in the quest for better and better accuracy, will sort by manufacturer, weight of the case, etc.
Benchrest competitors are famous for this - but they are trying to put all their bullets through the same hole at 200 yards.
For me, life is too short to go to that much trouble. I have shot mixed brass from my .45s and new brass from the same lot and not seen any difference in accuracy. In target rifles, by default I shoot one manufacturer/one lot because I buy it by the case for my HBar.
In hunting rifles, I shoot mixed brass - one is as good as another. A note, though: I am not nearly as demanding about my groups as some shooters. Once I get to an inch, I'm good to go and off the bench into field expedient positions.
Pete
Old August 12, 2008, 07:05 AM   #3
wncchester

I think it will decrease groups by .0136".
Old August 12, 2008, 09:15 AM   #4
ryalred