The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 21, 2002, 03:55 PM   #1
sjones

good dove load?

I am loading #7 1/2 with green dot to a loading of 1200 fps. this is a 1 1/8 oz load for skeet,but since I am new to this sport and shotshell reloading,I was wondering if this would also make a good dove or quail load?thanks. also,is there any info out there that would tell you what fps is good for what game? I know you can use 5's or 6's for phesant,but at what velocity? thanks again. sj
Old December 21, 2002, 04:20 PM   #2
sm

Doves, I use a good 2 3/4 or 3 dram eq in skeet load. HARD SHOT
in 1 1/8 oz. Normally shot size 8 wind kickin, grey missles with afterburners might go 7.5, Been known to use 6's when skittish, winter, reallywhen 'afer piece out.

#1 deal, always: Pattern Board best friend.
Check at ranges to be used with loads, chokes.
Much said for :matter of bore-not choke
Field not place to find out.

Tip: all I SEE is the head...focus on head only...paint 'em out of the sky
Old December 22, 2002, 11:01 AM   #3
Southla1
Member In Memoriam

I use 2 3/4" 3-3/4, 1-1/4, 7 1/2's in a 28" modified barrel. Works for me. I have used Herco, and WW570 with WW wads in WW all plastic cases to get there.
Old December 22, 2002, 01:29 PM   #4
HSMITH

Your GD load will kill any dove ever hatched out to 45 yards with a decent pattern.
Old December 23, 2002, 01:55 AM   #5
Mike Irwin
Staff

My favorite dove load was always a Winchester AA hull and wad, 1 1/4 oz of 71/2 shot, and enough Red Dot to make 2 3/4 dram. quiv.

Made a good all around general pupose load.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old December 23, 2002, 08:27 AM   #6
lockandrock
Registration in progress

1 1/4oz , #7.5 ( maybe 8s) AA hulls , win209, and the max longshot loading from hodgdon website