The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old December 2, 2011, 10:32 PM   #1
ClydeFrog

New Florida concealed firearm/gun law; veterans...

ATTN; honorable discharge US military veterans in Florida....
I saw a media item; www.myfoxorlando.com , that a new state bill is being developed that will allow US military veterans with honorable discharges(who meet all the legal-mental health requirements) to carry loaded, concealed weapons in Florida WITHOUT a formal W/concealed license.
As a US military veteran, I can support this new state law & see it's merits.
I'm also sure some groups & powerful lobbys will actively go against it.
Florida's state Gov, Rick Scott is a US Navy veteran with a A grade from the NRA.
For details & updates please see; www.Mylicensesite.com www.Myfloridalegal.com www.Myflorida.com www.NRA.org .

ClydeFrog
Old December 3, 2011, 01:51 PM   #2
cow0man

It should be that way for all 50 states and US territories. (we are trusted to carry 24/7 in a warzone) But it is easy enough for veterans to get a ccw in most states without even taking a ccw course. I wish the law would allow us to carry on base.
Old December 3, 2011, 01:55 PM   #3
hermannr

Carry on base is up to the Command. It is neither legal, or illegal, it is what the post/base Commander says.
Old December 3, 2011, 04:15 PM   #4
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Quote:
Originally Posted by cow0man
It should be that way for all 50 states and US territories. (we are trusted to carry 24/7 in a warzone) But it is easy enough for veterans to get a ccw in most states without even taking a ccw course.
The original post was about veterans. If you are currently in one of the military services, you are not a "veteran" in the legal sense and in the context of this discussion.