The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old May 5, 2010, 11:59 PM   #1
ReserveCop

Flashlight for Everyday Carry ?

Before I retired as a reserve cop, I used to carry a small flashlight on my person when I was off-duty. It came in handy many times.

I'm getting ready to "trade in" my old flashlight for a new 2010-model of an new and improved everyday carry flashlight.

I was wondering if anyone can suggest a flashlight that would work for me as any everyday flashlight (for under $100 if possible and a flashlight that I can clip to my pocket)?

Last edited by ReserveCop; May 6, 2010 at 12:04 AM.
Old May 6, 2010, 12:43 AM   #2
stephen426

I have a Surefire Backup that is a great everyday carry, but it is above your $100 price point. It has a click on/click off tail cap and highbeam (80 lumens) and low beam (5 lumens). It runs off a single Lithium CR123 and it gets a decent run time since it is a LED. Overall dimensions are very small and it is a very well built light. It is a bit pricey at $139, but they have a life time warranty on it.

There are a ton of bright compact LED lights on the market today. I think there is actually a flashlight forum. I have found some decent lights on Battery Junction. You have to take their lumen output ratings with a grain of salt. Their prices aren't bad though. Good luck!

I found a flashlight forum... http://www.flashlight-forums.com/

Last edited by stephen426; May 6, 2010 at 01:01 AM.
Old May 6, 2010, 01:27 AM   #3
FatPants

I carry a cheapo in my pocket all the time. I tend to lose/break things, so it works for me.
Ive currently got this guy:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.19187

I filed the bezel down flat because it was eating holes through my pants pockets, but its been great. Very bright, seems durable enough. Ive had it close to a year now, I think I got my $17 worth out of it.
Old May 6, 2010, 06:09 AM   #4
KChen986