The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 29, 2013, 09:55 AM   #1
Barneveld

Recipees and tips for loading .40 S&W

Due to a lively gun auction recently, I am the owner of a hi-point .40 S&W. Factory ammo is expensive, and currently very hard to find. I decided to start loading my own.

I have some experience loading rifle cartridges, but never handgun. Any tips on powder types, preferred loads, bullet weights, etc.

I pan to use this mainly as a carry gun, but would like to take it handgun hunting this fall. Please no comments about what gun would be better, yardage, or anything else. I have already been put through the wringer on another part of the site.

My biggest concern is accuracy. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
Old April 29, 2013, 11:23 AM   #2
rajbcpa

It is a high pressure load. If you buy bulk once-fired cases you will likely find some cases that are "bulged". Bulged cases are cause by unsupported barrels and, the bulge is not removed with a standard sizing die. Bulged cases will not chamber.

Lee and Redding both sell push-through dies that remove the bulge.
Old April 29, 2013, 11:58 AM   #3
SL1

Well, it would be helpful to know what you would like to hunt, at least.

Available bullets range from 135 to over 200 grains, although anything over 180 grains is not going to leave you enough powder space to get any performance.

"This" month (the June 2013 issue), there is a good article in Handloader Magazine that includes loads with measured velocities and group sizes, if you can find a copy.

SL1
Old April 29, 2013, 12:22 PM   #4
jokker1978

I use titegroup powder and 180 gr hornady bullets. Love the powder.
It burns very clean .
Old April 29, 2013, 12:48 PM   #5
recon14

Re: Recipees and tips for loading .40 S&W

I use 231 or clays. Both work well
Old April 29, 2013, 01:06 PM   #6
Hammerhead