The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 16, 2010, 02:11 AM   #1
40caliber

Brass Case Questions please help

Hello I am very new to handloading, I have a lee breech lock single stage, and I am handloading 40 s&w rounds, and I have a question, I left a bag of about 500 cases in a plastic bag outside, and the bag filled with condensation and now I have brownish spots on outside and inside of case, they dont come off either, I was wondering what this is and if it is safe to load still, will it affect the shelf life or contaminate my powder, thank you very much for any advice you can offer and thank you for your time
Old September 16, 2010, 06:03 AM   #2
Rico567

If you don't care about the way the cases look, dry 'em out, load & shoot. You can always tumble the brown off, but I have a suspicion from your post you don't own a tumbler. You can also get that tarnish off a couple of cheap ways. What I would do:

1. Deprime all the cases.

2. Put them in a homer bucket with 1/2 gal of white vinegar and a couple of gallons of water.

3. Leave for 20-30 minutes and check for tarnish removal.

4. Rinse off the vinegar solution with water and spread out to air dry for a few days or dry in a low-temperature oven.

There's also a product called Lemishine (citric acid based, instead of the acetic acid in vinegar) that is highly regarded by some....check for it at Wal-Mart.

There's a commercial product called "Iosso" that's supposed to work well, but I've always found the method above to be effective and cheap.

- Mark Twain
Old September 16, 2010, 08:48 AM   #3
Uncle Buck

You should see my .45 LC brass that I use to load black powder. Those cases are of several different colors and look like heck.