The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 4, 2010, 10:30 PM   #1
sewerdude

Mossberg 835. Which size slugs to use???

Hello all,
This is my first time on here. Great site, alot of info on here! \
My question is: I just bought a new Mossberg 835 waterfowl/deer combo over the weekend. The deer barrel is rifled. I'm alittle confused about what size slug shells to use in the slug barrel. I read on another site that you "have" to use a 3.5 inch slug in the 835 not a 2 3/4 or a 3 inch. Because of the gap in the chamber with the two smaller shells.
Is this true? I do know that the 3.5 slugs are pricey and I would like to use the 3 inch if all possible. I'm not sure how available the 3.5 inch would be. Did I buy a gun that I can only shoot the 3.5 in? Thanks and I hope to learn alot on here.
Old January 5, 2010, 06:56 AM   #2
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

Use 2 3/4" slugs if possible. Your shoulder will thank you.

And yes, you can use the shorter slugs. Accuracy will not be compromised.

Downrange, I've not seen any actual difference in performance.
Old January 5, 2010, 08:14 AM   #3
sewerdude

Thanks Dave. Thats good news to me. I wonder if all the talk about only using 3.5 inch slugs in 3.5 inch cambers are just rumors ? I know not to use slugs in the 3.5 Mossberg 835 field barrel as it is overbored. But I got the combo that came with a full rifled barrel. Thanks again
Old January 5, 2010, 08:35 AM   #4
rantingredneck

Look on the side of your slug barrel. You should see something like "Chambered for 2 3/4", 3" and 3 1/2" shells". Therein lies your answer.

And yes, as Dave said your shoulder will thank you for using 2 3/4" shells.

I have a Mossberg 835 with a regular 24" Accumag field barrel. I don't shoot it much anymore. One of my nephews is enamored of the "Three and a Half" and likes to deer hunt with it using 3 1/2" 00 buckshot.

He's young, he'll learn.........