The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 10, 2016, 05:54 PM   #1
Lavan

Does anyone make a .22 conversion for Browning Hi Power?

I have the BHP but wonder if any conversion could cock what seems to be a VERY stiff mainspring.

Old November 10, 2016, 06:24 PM   #2
Walt Sherrill

I've no personal experience with the Ciener kit, but Ciener makes one for the BHP. http://www.22lrconversions.com/hpk-pg.htm I've heard praise and complaints about Ciener products.

Some conversion kits use very light slides and don't use the stock recoil spring.

Others don't even use a slide that moves -- just part of the upper assembly (with a cover on the bolt) actually moves. That's how the CZ Kadet Kit works.

Keep looking, and you'll probably find others.

Last edited by Walt Sherrill; November 11, 2016 at 09:03 PM.
Old November 10, 2016, 10:33 PM   #3
rock185

I had a Peters Stahl kit on a Browning Hi Power years ago. It had no trouble cocking the hammer....
Old November 11, 2016, 07:08 AM   #4
larryh1108

I recently purchased a Ciener kit for my 1911 Officers frame. Great product, great customer service. The old man, who was the cause of so many complaints, seems to be out of the picture now and I am very happy with the fit and function of the kit. They do make a .22 conversion for the BHP.
Old November 12, 2016, 10:29 AM   #5
Crunchy Frog

I have a Ciener conversion for a 1911. It works fine. I like the 15 round aluminum magazines.
Old November 12, 2016, 10:15 PM   #6
Rembrandt

Have both the Ceiner and Stahls units, both are great. Stahls units are very hard to find and expensive. Ciener is a very reliable nice conversion.

Old November 12, 2016, 10:25 PM   #7
johnwilliamson062

Quote:
The old man, who was the cause of so many complaints, seems to be out of the picture now and I am very happy with the fit and function of the kit. They