The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old January 23, 2008, 07:20 AM   #1
Sigma 40 Blaster

How many shoot both IDPA and USPSA???

I've been shooting IDPA for maybe four months now, I've improved a lot but would like more disciplined trigger time that involves timed reloads, shooting on the move, and shooting from different positions (kneeling, behind cover etc.). So my thoughts were either build my own range (not likely to happen) or shoot more matches.

After talking to some IDPA guys and being introduced to some USPSA guys it seems like there is some halfway serious rivalry between the two groups, I'm not sure if this is just a local thing or something a little more widespread.

That's what prompted my question, how many shoot with both organizations? And if you do, is the competition between the two groups real or just of my imagination?

The USPSA Production division seems pretty similar in rules and gear requirements to IDPA, the only difference would be stage set-up. A little run and gun isn't bad for anyone as long as it's not teaching bad habits right???
Old January 23, 2008, 09:01 AM   #2
WESHOOT2

serious can of worms, oh my!

IDPA was started because certain folks thought USPSA had 'lost its way', no longer relating to the practical world (ha!).

I started shooting USPSA in March of 1995, and didn't get a chance to try IDPA until '00 /'01(?).
Shot a few, but the rules were confusing (and ever-changing, and I got into an arguement with an 'owner' over my suddenly-banned equipment).
Still shot a few.

Club formed in this region, held some matches, then evaporated.

IMO IDPA is more about execution of prescribed tactics, while USPSA is more about free-thinking solving of tactical problems.

Both enhance one's gun-handling and gun-safety skills.
Both give shooting 'purpose'.
Both can be fun.