The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old August 12, 2005, 03:55 PM   #1
alvrez

Barrel help ... M1 Garand?

I have a barrel that I found in some of my Grandfather's stuff. Maybe one of you can tell me what I have and whether it is worth keeping. The barrel has "HRA D6535448 5-52 RS9"stamped on the breech end and along the muzzle has "Blue Sky/ Arlington, Va." stamped.
I am no expert at appraisals but this has marks like it may have been on a weapon at some time but does not show much signs of being fired much. The gas port is still quite clean, and the chamber has very few scratches. there is no evidence of wear on either muzzle or breech end threads.
Any help you can give would be appreciated.
Old August 12, 2005, 06:35 PM   #2
Dfariswheel

You have a Harrington & Richardson M1 rifle barrel, made in May of 1952.

This particular barrel WAS fitted to an M1 rifle that was given to the South Korean military, and was re-imported back into the US about 10 to 15 years ago, by an importer named "Blue Sky".

Obviously, someone removed the barrel from the rifle, for some reason.
Often, people removed importer-marked barrels, and replaced them with non-import marked barrels, and sold them for higher prices as a non-import rifle.

In other words, the Blue Sky imported rifles sell for less money, and this was a way of basically cheating a buyer by making him think the rifle wasn't an import.

Due to the "Blue Sky" stamps the barrel will have less value than an unmarked barrel.
Old August 12, 2005, 07:25 PM   #3
alvrez

Thank you for the info
Old August 13, 2005, 01:04 PM   #4
Crosshair

Wow, nice work Dfariswheel. Would you be able to tell me where I put my cleaning jags, I can't seem to find them. I have my old (Shot out) M1 Garand Barrel around somewhere, had some interesting marks on it. I'll try and post it when I find it.
Old August 13, 2005, 01:33 PM   #5
4V50 Gary
Staff

Wasn't BlueSky owned by Wayne Pierre?