The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 31, 2009, 06:00 PM   #1
ibdecent

Powder thrower tolerance for rifle

I'm relatively new to reloading and i'm addicted. i absolutley love it. I mainly load for my deer rifle right now due to lack of funds to load all my guns. Anyway, I bought an rcbs uniflow. I've done extensive "testing" and I get about +/- 0.4 grains. the gun I load for is .325 wsm in a win m70 (got it for $300 brand new) I don't have the load data in front of me but IF I remember right the barnes manual calls a minimum load of 56.5 grns and max load of 62.5 grns. i can't remember what powder right now.....SO WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT USE THIS INFORMATION TO LOAD. It is an extruded powder, but it doesn't cut very often. In my "testing" I made note of the charges that it did cut, and they still fell within the +/-.4 grains range. I do use a trickler right now, since I am new to the hobby and I am working with explosives, and I believe that I will continue to do so, unless I'm working with loads for different calibers. I'm not overly worried about the extra time to measure each individual round when I'm only loading 1-20 rounds and I do like consistency.....

To get to my question...

1) Would anyone out there consider this +/- 0.4 gr variance to be acceptable, and why?

2) What causes it?

3) Would a powder baffle help this problem?

any other little interesting tidbits would be appreciated too.

P.S. I'm not really interested in getting harrassed for the large caliber for deer hunting. It's all about shot placement and I can put them 1 moa no problem. I bought it cheap as I said and with this rifle I can hunt nearly anything in the world, should I choose to do so.
Old July 31, 2009, 07:03 PM   #2
DaveInPA