The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 24, 2004, 11:17 AM   #1
gunrunner

which hand loader lyman or Lee

ok, i am new to this BP hand loads, i have done my semi auto handguns and know some othe basics, keep things clean, go slow, read the book, stay in the powder tables, but i dont want to buy another loading press for just BP. i see these handpresses mentioned and wonder if they are worth while, i did some searching and Lyman 310 comes up alot but what does everyone think about the LEE press. also is this really worthwhile, should i just stick to the factory cowboy bullets. is there any special changes for BP loads verses current ammo reloading. Brass, Primes, Powder, and bullets.

LEE : http://www.midwayusa.com/rewriteaproduct/624416

Lyman : http://www.buffaloarms.com/browse.cfm/4%2C1779.html
Old December 24, 2004, 12:45 PM   #2
Jim Watson

What kind of press have you got?
You can't load .45-70 on a SDB but you can on most other presses, even progressives.

I think those hand tools are a step back in time that I enjoy taking with the old guns, but I have NO interest in loading ammo by 19th century methods.

Even the Lee classic or challenger bench press would be better, if you don't already have a suitable press. It will not be a large expense compared to the price of a Shiloh and will help you load good ammo with a lot less fuss than a hand tool.

Storebought ammunition will not do what I want my Winchester to do. I am a BPCR silhouette and midrange shooter so I expect my rifle and ammunition to perform at 500 metres and 600 yards. I don't know what your plans are but everything I do is directed toward accuracy at distance.