The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 28, 2014, 08:20 PM   #1
SAKMAN

Lee 3 Die or 4 Die sets?

I am just getting started.
Have never reloaded before.
I am picking up the following tomorrow....
  • Lee Value Four Hole Turret Press Kit
  • Lee Pacesetter Rifle Dies .223 Remington
  • Lee Three Die Pistol Die Set .40 S&W
  • Lee Double Disk Kit for Auto-Disk Measures
  • Lee Safety Prime Press Mounted Primer System
  • Lee .223 Remington Case Length Gage and Shell Holder
  • Lee Rifle Charging Die
  • LEE Precision Reloading Auto-Disk Riser
  • Lee 4 Hole Turret
  • Hornady® Handbook of Cartridge Reloading: 9th Edition
  • MTM Universal Loading Tray
After I ordered everything I saw that Lee has a 4 die set.
Should I change or will the 3 die set do the job?
Old March 28, 2014, 08:38 PM   #2
lee n. field

Quote:
After I ordered everything I saw that Lee has a 4 die set.
Should I change or will the 3 die set do the job?
Get the 4 die set. The 4th die is a Factory Crimp Die. This lets you separate out bullet seating and case crimping.

Quote:
Lee Value Four Hole Turret Press Kit
Get the classic turret instead.

Quote:
Lee Value Four Hole Turret Press Kit
Lee Pacesetter Rifle Dies .223 Remington
Lee Three Die Pistol Die Set .40 S&W
Lee Double Disk Kit for Auto-Disk Measures
Lee Safety Prime Press Mounted Primer System
Lee .223 Remington Case Length Gage and Shell Holder
Lee Rifle Charging Die
LEE Precision Reloading Auto-Disk Riser
Lee 4 Hole Turret
Hornady® Handbook of Cartridge Reloading: 9th Edition
MTM Universal Loading Tray
You ought to have a powder scale, to check powder throw from your powder measure. The Lee Safety Scale is inexpensive.
"As was the man of dust, so also are those who are of the dust, and as is the man of heaven, so also are those who are of heaven. Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven. "