The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old July 28, 2011, 02:08 AM   #1
Badcompany

AR-15 on a budget

So i am a broke college student, i make relatively little money-most of which goes toward bills and tuition. However, i have managed to save up a bit of money and i want a good, reliable AR-15 for 700-800.

I was thinking the smith and wesson sport model or the bushmaster carbon 15 (although i am beginning to lose interest in the AR-pistols, due to the fact that i enjoy having a stock).

Suggestions and/or advice on good ARs that fit my budget would be wonderful
Old July 28, 2011, 02:14 AM   #2
mcdowellbri

They make that same Carbon-15 line as a rifle as well, or at least they did last time i peeked their website.

You can buy a stripped lower and pick and choose parts cheaper than you can buy a retail rifle from most places, youll probably end up goin with some lower end parts, but as a cheap plinker that you clean often it doesnt much matter.

also you can get a DPMS rifle in around the $650 range in one of the carbine/lightwieght barrel models they offer.
Old July 28, 2011, 03:07 AM   #3
ndking1126

Without realizing it, you just told me you want a Stag Arms AR.

Good thing I was here to interpret for you!

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/i...p/cPath/36_800
Old July 28, 2011, 04:42 AM   #4
RT

This looks pretty good
http://www.pkfirearms.com/Smith__Wesson_Rifles/138/c

Smith & Wesson M&P 15 Sport Rifle

Smith & Wesson M&P 15 Sport Rifle features a 16" barrel with 1/8 twist. 5.56 NATO chamber, Adjustable front and rear sights, 6-position collapsable stock, M4 ramped flat top receiver, Carbine gas system, standard trigger and A2 flash hider. Includes one 30 round PMAG.
On Sale For $679.00
Old July 28, 2011, 07:20 AM   #5
closetgunnut

I just bought/built my first AR this past spring.