The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old April 18, 2006, 07:31 AM   #1
Arioch

scale model gatling

I'm a newbie here, and though I've asked this question on other forums, I've goten enough conflicting information to make me even more cautious.

I would like to buy plans for a functional half or 1/3 scale Gatling gun chambered in .22LR. Plans are readily available, and it would be for my own use, not for sale. The problem, as I see it, is that all the plans cll for barrels less than 16 inches long, and have overall lengths of under 26 inches. Doesn't either of these make it an NFA firearm?

Thanks for any help you can give a poor soul from the PR of MA.
Old April 18, 2006, 08:32 AM   #2
deadin

That is a very good question. Why not go to the source and ask the BATFE? (Post what you find out)

Dean
Old April 18, 2006, 04:24 PM   #3
gunslinger555

hmmm ive seen one of thos at cabelas in dundee,michagan it was cool
Old April 24, 2006, 08:26 AM   #4
Arioch

gatling

Deadin, I've always been a little reluctant to go to any government regulatory agency for results (We're from the government and we're here to help you.) Feels a lot like poking a stick into a hornet's nest.
Old April 24, 2006, 10:04 AM   #5
deadin

Arioch,
That's too bad as they are the ones that will prosecute you if you decide to act on some piece of wrong advice from the Internet. I don't know of any of the "advice givers" here that will put their money where their mouth is and help out to defray defense costs if you choose the wrong one to believe.

(I'm sure some will happily help you out by giving any guns you currently own a new home if you are convicted. )

Dean
Old April 24, 2006, 10:22 AM   #6
Edward429451