The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 19, 2007, 09:59 PM   #1
restlessnomad

Wow - Watch this Officer

I dont know if you guys have seen this, but its worth watching...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmRN00KbCr8

..Sorry forgot the link
Old June 19, 2007, 10:00 PM   #2
Black Adder LXX

???
Old June 19, 2007, 10:22 PM   #3
Don H

Sorry, but this video of the DEA agent shooting himself in the foot is old and much discussed here and on other forums.
Old June 19, 2007, 10:29 PM   #4
restlessnomad

Ok, guess I didn't look hard enough. Sorry
Old June 19, 2007, 11:34 PM   #5
Archie

There's an old proverb...

Keep your words soft and sweet for you may have to eat them.

Check out updated journal at http://oldmanmontgomery.wordpress.com/
Old June 20, 2007, 09:18 AM   #6
Tanzer

It's an old video, but it can be used to express different points. How good would this guy be at crowd control? I'm a teacher. See that thin brunette teacher to the side? (not the lady handing him guns) I guarantee she's the reason they didn't start laughing/calling him names. She'd put the fear into them. He's just plain wrong for any job that requires a "pay attention to me" attitude. That hand going up is a brake, a shield, not how an officer of such caliber should be acting (yeah, I know, adrenaline). What the heck should it matter to that crowd whether it's a Glock? To them, IT'S A GUN! That's machismo getting in the way of making the point. In front of a school crowd, you never speak loud to accomodate them. They listen to accomodate your normal, comfortable voice. No matter what-bang or no bang. Disargree? then don't, but fires and other emergencies can and do happen. They won't act like a routine fire drill in the real thing unless officials can handle that facet of behavior. I can imagine him telling a crowd to move back. "Only us qualified officers who carry Glocks in holsters with thumbreaks and are used to looking at dea