The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old February 26, 2013, 01:33 PM   #1
sixteenacrewood

which to buy?

I ran accross 2 nice rifles in my local gun store, both look to be in very nice condition and are there on consignment. They look to be unaltered, no rust or pitting, good color on the metal parts, nice wood, and very clean bores.

One is a Lee Enfield 303 and the other is a German Mauser 8mm but looks shorter than ones I've seen online. They are asking $250 each

I want a shooter that I could use for deer and wild pigs as well as for the range.

I have no experience with either of the guns or calibers.

What is the recoil like on these?

Any advice?

Thanks again
Stephen
Old February 26, 2013, 01:47 PM   #2
mapsjanhere

German Mausers should not be short - but FN sold a lot of shorter models. Be aware that a certain US Mauser dealer produces "tanker Mausers" that have no historic value. That said, any decent Mauser is a steal at $250, you have to pay that for a Turkish model by now.
Old February 26, 2013, 02:33 PM   #3
sixteenacrewood

Thanks, deffinitly not a tanker.
I have been looking at a few of the auction sites and think I may be mistaken about it being shorter. the first photos I looked at were a swedish mauser.

so whats it like shooting these two rifles?
Old February 26, 2013, 06:42 PM   #4
Cheapshooter

To give you an idea of the recoil it would helpful to know what you have shot. That being said, either the 303 British, or the Mauser (8MM) would be a lot like a comercial 30-06 without a recoil pad.
The important thing is a proper, firm hold on either. Many that complain about the recoil of military rifles get hammered because they get sloppy with how they hold theme.
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!
Old February 26, 2013, 07:35 PM   #5
sixteenacrewood

thanks cheapshooter
I've shot most of the standard modern rounds, 30-06, 270 etc.