The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 17, 2010, 04:15 PM   #1
jmquinn05

1858 Remington

From what I have been reading the 1858 Remington seems to be a popular pistol. What about it makes it so well liked? Again I am new to b/p.
Old October 17, 2010, 04:33 PM   #2
Hawg

I think most people like it for the top strap. They think it makes it stronger than a Colt design. It really doesnt tho. Not with bp pressures anyway.
Old October 17, 2010, 04:58 PM   #3
Doc Hoy

My thoughts

For one thing it is a pretty pistol. The top strap makes folks think of modern handguns. I am not a fan of brass frame revolvers for personal reasons but when you shine up that frame on a brass revolver it is a real attention getter.

It is easy to field strip and easy to clean.

Most of them do not have the Colt feature of shooting high at 25 yards. POA is close to POI in terms of elevation on a Remington clone.

One downside is that the grip and trigger guard can be uncomfortable for anyone with a larger that average hand. Another is that some of the imports are delivered with the barrel installed in such a way that the sight does not line up. Turned in too far and the pistol shoots right. Turned in not far enough and the pistol shoots left. It is an easy thing to spot. Not by looking at the sight but be looking at the flat of the barrel in comparison the to flat of the frame.
Old October 17, 2010, 05:45 PM   #4
Hawg

Quote:
Most of them do not have the Colt feature of shooting high at 25 yards. POA is close to POI in terms of elevation on a Remington clone.
The newer Piettas dont but the older ones had sights closer to the originals which did shoot high. Not sure about Uberti.
Old October 17, 2010, 05:55 PM   #5
zippy13