The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old June 1, 2010, 09:27 PM   #1
6shot

mossberg 590 heat shield

I'm sure this question has been asked before but can i buy a heat shield for my mossberg 590 with ghost ring sights. If anyone knows where i can get one please let me know. thanks
Old June 1, 2010, 11:01 PM   #2
Carne Frio

Any place that sells ATI products. I have no knowledge of it's quality.

http://www.atigunstocks.com/p-67-del...ng-sights.aspx
Old June 2, 2010, 09:46 AM   #3
EdInk

I am considering the possible purchase of a 590 in a few weeks myself. Is the heatshield really good for much. I don't imagine a pump shotgun getting too hot 9rds at a time. Is it more for show or a serious option to consider?
Old June 2, 2010, 10:01 AM   #4
oletymer

99% useless show.
Old June 2, 2010, 12:58 PM   #5
RoscoeC

Quote:
Is it more for show or a serious option to consider?
Bulky, clunky, cool looking (to some), and worthless as teats on a boar hog.

If your barrel gets hot, keep your hands off of it. Its is a self correcting problem. You will only grab a very hot barrel once or twice, and your hand won't want to go there any more.
NRA Life Member
Old June 3, 2010, 07:06 AM   #6
lmccrock

Quote:
I don't imagine a pump shotgun getting too hot 9rds at a time. Is it more for show or a serious option to consider?
Shooting 3-gun matches, it might be 30 at a time, as fast as you can load and shoot. Yes, the barrel gets hot enough to burn and leave a mark. That said, most 3-gun shotguns do NOT have heat shields. If the gun has one, keep it. If it does not, money and time are better spent elsewhere.

Lee
Old June 3, 2010, 05:15 PM   #7
p99guy

For the most part, even the U.S. Military has stopped using the handguards decades ago,