The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old May 20, 2007, 05:54 PM   #1
Johnywinslow

#11 nipples

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I noticed all the cap and ball revolver except for ruger use #10 caps , can u buy # 11 cap niple replacements? Seems a lodgical step in upgrading any cap and ball pistol ! IM new to cap and ball shooting so if this is a dumb question i apologyze lolol
Old May 20, 2007, 05:59 PM   #2
Heinrich

I've not found difference in ignition between no10 and no11. I've left no10 in all my weapons where I have bought them as such.

I only use CCI Magnum caps.
Old May 20, 2007, 07:28 PM   #3
mykeal

Nipple changes

Not a bad question, so no apology needed.

Nipple choices are pretty much limited by what the cylinder is tapped to receive in the way of threads. I keep and use both #10 and #11 caps. Which one works best depends on the gun - the one that fits best works best in that gun. I have seen no advantage for one over the other, so I don't understand the comment about going to #11's as an "upgrade"; I don't think you have a choice.
Old May 20, 2007, 08:10 PM   #4
Johnywinslow

I assumed #11s being bigger would provide a hotter burn to ignite the powder is all , im probly wrong though, probly why jackazz cell phone makers wont make just one charger connection.....
Old May 20, 2007, 08:42 PM   #5
Phantom Captain