The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 3, 2012, 08:56 PM   #1
kmaysob

coal issue

hey guys, so i finally started pressing bullets tonight. my coal keeps changing. im trying to get a coal of 2.800. i set it up, press one bullet, comes out perfect. press another it may be perfect might be off by 5 thousandths. i cant get a consistent 2.800. my cases are trimmed perfect, my dies are tight, my shell holder is tight, one thing i did notice is the bullets vary in length. i cant see how that could make the difference though. i even tried cleaning the dies and the shell holder. im at a loss. any help would be appreciated.
Old January 3, 2012, 09:31 PM   #2
mrawesome22

It is the tips varying. If you want a consistent measurement, measure from base to bullet ogive with a comparator tool.
Old January 3, 2012, 09:41 PM   #3
kmaysob

ok, so i guess atm i shouldnt be concerned? im new to rifle. ive only done 45 acp and 9mm up to this point. looks like midway has a set for 30 bucks. ill have to pick a set up next pay day when i order my bipod from them. i have tried to get them all very close to the same. tried a couple in the rifle and no problems chambering. i appreciate the feedback. i have learned something new today
Old January 3, 2012, 09:50 PM   #4
kmaysob

one more question. using the comperator, will i still measure for 2.800?
Old January 3, 2012, 10:16 PM   #5
steve4102

Quote:
No.
Old January 3, 2012, 11:13 PM   #6
dacaur

You will never get a consistent measurement from base to tip because the seating die seats the bullet by pushing on the the ogive, not the tip... I just go for an average of 2.800, adjusting the die will just have you chasing it up and down.... I set my die so they average 2.800, then sort them into groups of the same length to shoot....
Old January 3, 2012, 11:43 PM   #7
mrawesome22

http://thefiringline.com/forums/show...hlight=hacksaw

Quote: