The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old January 2, 2009, 08:56 AM   #1
chadflys

Ruger mkIII bull 5.5 or sig trailside??? or other suggustions

Looking for best and most accurate target pistol I can get for the money. I have read, and read and read post, but still not sure whats going to be the best. I have read alot about S&W 41, but way out of price range. THe sig trailside appear to be very similar in design. But Ruger is by no doubt maybe the most highly praised, but many many own them too...Can enyone give me some good specifics to look for and be concerned about when I'm shopping. I'm no expert yet, but going to be and want something to grow into. Right now from 25 ft standing, I shoot about a 2.5 in group with about 50rnds. at 15ft my group is 1in with a hi-standard sport-king that a friend let me borrow.

Thanks,
Chad
Old January 2, 2009, 02:40 PM   #2
melchloboo2

I think the rugers are more popular nowadays for bullseye. What that means is a larger base of people that can help you tune it.

Also the ruger eats any .22 ammo you feed it. So you can practice with the cheap walmart stuff without problems. The VQ accurizing kit is drop-in.

Be aware the grips on the 22/45 can't be changed without grinding them down and mounting 1911 studs. So consider a standard ruger, and just shooting as is or getting a 1911 style grip (they are out there) for it. The VQ grips are awesome for many people.

One handed my 5.5 bbl mkIII I can hold the 9.5 ring at 50 yards. I'm sure in a rest it will do well.

Plus, the MKIII's nowadays are already tapped for scope mounts if you decide you want to shoot with a red-dot.
Old January 2, 2009, 03:42 PM   #3
mstuhr

Buckmark maybe?

Welcome,
The Buckmark would be another contender.
I'd try to look at everything I could afford and find what suits me best.
Good luck in your search
Mike
Old January 2, 2009, 03:54 PM   #4
melchloboo2