The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old March 4, 2006, 02:32 PM   #1
Chaingunner

Flamethrowers

Flamethrowers aren't machine guns, nor are they really guns (if you assume that a "gun" is a device that uses a mechanical operation to launch a chunk of metal), so are they class three weapons, or what?

I don't have one, I don't intend to make one, and I don't want one; it just occured to me that I don't know and would like to know.
Old March 4, 2006, 02:40 PM   #2
chemist308

Maybe "any other weapon"?
Old March 4, 2006, 03:13 PM   #3
Johnny Guest
Moderator in Memoriam

I'll bet it would be regulated somehow

First - - I have no personal knowledge of the specific law as applies to a flamethrower.

Second - - I'm not saying this is the way things SHOULD be.

But, there was a force-fit decision made some years back, long pre-11 SEP, that BATF had some jurisdiction to investigate crimes of arson, where an accelerating agent was used- - gasoline, that sort of thing - - from the standpoint that anything that COULD explode, could be a bomb. I don't know at what point they decided that non-accelerant arson was an ATF matter. Maybe it technically is not. But, if they're called in to assist in a local arson investigation, it's kinda like the camel getting his nose in the tent. Nowadays, of course, there's the possible terrorism aspect, which can automatically get just about any ol' federal agency involved.

What does this all have to do with a military-type flamethrower, one asks? Well, there's the accelerant aspect. AND, what's a flamethrower FOR, except to commit arson - - I mean, setting stuff afire, forgetting some local requirements that it be mortgaged or insured property in order to qualify. Yeah, I think: Any Other Weapon.

Re-reading the above, I find that the reasoning looks a bit convoluted, if not a little confused. And if I feel that way, I wonder how much sense it could make to someone else.