The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old January 17, 2010, 10:31 AM   #1
Nickel Plated

NYC laws regarding "antiques"

Hi all, new guy here.
For a quick intro. My name is Boris, 20 years old, from Brooklyn NYC.
I have some experience shooting a variety of guns at a rental range in the Poconos. But I thought it's about time I get my own.

I figured a cap and ball revolver is a good place to start since it would be the easiest for me to obtain at the moment. However I am asking here for help first to make sure I understand the laws correctly.

Here is the NRA list of firearm laws in NYC:

http://www.nraila.org/statelawpdfs/NYCCL.pdf

And the section specifically dealing with Antiques and Replicas of antiques.

ANTIQUES & REPLICAS

Exempt from permit and certificate of registration requirements
are antique rifles and shotguns incapable of being fired or discharged or which do not fire fixed ammunition or those weapons manufactured prior to 1894 and replicas for which fixed ammunition is not commercially available.
Also exempt is any unloaded muzzle loading pistol or revolver
with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system, or a pistol or revolver, which uses fixed cartridges, which are no longer available in the ordinary channels
of commercial trade. This includes replicas. A license would be required to possess these handguns when the ammunition necessary to discharge them is possessed simultaneously.

If I am reading this correctly, then rifles and shotguns don't need to be registered and you don't need to be 21 or older to own them as long as:
-The gun is deactivated
-The gun doesn't use cartridges (muzzle loader)
-The gun is made prior to 1894 or a replica of a gun made prior to 1894.

Muzzle loading pistols and revolvers don't need to be registered and you don't need to be 21 or older to own them as log as: