The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 23, 2015, 05:41 PM   #1
bungiex88

Loading lead 357 mag

Going to start reloading for my 357 mag soon. I'll be doing minor deer hunting with it and any critters that walk into the back yard. I'm trying to reload very cheap. I was wondering if I could reload lead bullets for it and would a lead bullet be alright for deer at short ranges. I'm new to reloading and never messed with lead bullets unless I was shooting my smoke pole. I just need some info on reloading lead. The reason being is I found really cheap lead bullets for sale. The gun is a Dan Wesson 6 1/2 barrel
Old November 23, 2015, 06:57 PM   #2
mikld

A 357 Mag. with a 158-160 gr LSWC is good deer medicine. For good lead bullet data get a Lyman's Cast bullet Handbook.
Old November 23, 2015, 07:33 PM   #3
Slamfire

This load has shot well out of every one of my 357 Magnums

158 Lead 13.5 grains 2400, any case, any primer.
Old November 23, 2015, 08:29 PM   #4
243winxb

357 magnum, 158 cast lswc 13.0 grains 2400, win or rem case, any primer for me.
Old November 23, 2015, 11:56 PM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

What you can use lead bullets for depends on what the bullets ARE.

Lead bullets can range from dead soft swaged or cast (even pure lead), suitable for velocities up through 8-900fps, a little harder alloy for higher speeds, up to "hard" cast slugs capable of being driven to full magnum speeds without problems*.

*assumes proper fit to your bore

There is a Brinell scale for hardness, but most folks only know the higher the number the harder the bullet.

I use the "rule of thumb", actually my thumbnail. If you can dig your thumbnail into the slug, and it leaves a noticeable dent, the slug is "soft"
If pressing hard with your thumbnail only leaves a slight bright spot, the slug is "hard", and suitable for use at higher speeds than the soft one.