The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 27, 2007, 07:32 AM   #1
PeteQuad

Lever Prime System?

Last night I bought the Lee Classic Turret Press from kempf:
http://www.kempfgunshop.com/products.../KempfKit.html
I just realized I left out the "Upgrade to Lever Prime System for Large & Small Primers" for $8. Can anyone explain what this is and should I call them and add it to the order? If I don't get the upgrade, is there an some extra annoyance I will have to deal with?

BTW I'm new to reloading - this is my first press.
Old April 27, 2007, 08:00 AM   #2
nass

Kempf should have set you up correctly for the caliber you ordered. If you post what caliber your loading, and what color the primer trigger is, we'll tell you if your set up OK.

Different calibers require different size primers (i.e. 45 is large primer, 9mm is small primer). When you want to start reloading another caliber, get the dieset and turret and priming system that you don't have if you need it.

ON EDIT: If you call them right now, you may be able to have them throw it in. I see you just ordered it...
Old April 27, 2007, 08:11 AM   #3
PeteQuad

I ordered the kit with a turret for .44 and I also ordered another turret complete with .38 dies (in the same order).
Old April 27, 2007, 09:09 AM   #4
PeteQuad

I called and they said because I will have 2 primer sizes I should get the upgrade, so they added it to the order for another $8.

I'm looking forward to this. Originally I wanted to do this to save money but now I'm just having fun figuring it all out. I also bought the Lyman, Hodgson and Hornady Manuals along with the ABC book. Lots to read!
Old April 27, 2007, 09:49 AM   #5
veeref