The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old January 15, 2005, 08:19 PM   #1
RICH_BRITISHCOLUMBIA

semi-auto bear rifle???

I have a question. I work in the forest industry up here in canada and I've been looking for a relyable semi-auto bear gun for some time now. So far the the best thing i can find is a browning BAR which comes in several different calibers, the problem is that the higher caliber ones which i am interested in (338 Mag.+) have a magazine capacity of around 2-3 rounds and i'd rather not carry one in the chamber for safety reasons. This is a problem when a grizz is charging at race horse speed. 2 or 3 shots just isn't enough.
I really like the BAR Lightweight Stalker but 2 shots in the clip isn't nearly enough.
...So here is my question...Does anyone make a replacement magazine for the BAR with higher capacity?
Or...Are there any other high caliber semi-autos with larger capacity magazines?

(at present I carry my DW 357 mag. but after reading a few posts,I feel it is just giving me a false sense of security )

thanks again...Rich Krewenchuk
[email protected]
Old January 16, 2005, 01:56 AM   #2
mikikanazawa

Ruger is billing their new Super Redhawk Alaskan as backup for bear country. It's a "snubbie" available in .454 and .480. (Slightly OT, but I've been dying to talk about that nifty little revolver.)
Old January 16, 2005, 02:52 AM   #3
guntotin_fool

hi Try to find a remington 7400 in 35 whelen

or a pump 7600 in same. They will work, and are affordable.
Old January 16, 2005, 03:04 AM   #4
Lycanthrope

I'd trust the 7600 pump a whole lot more. You can get 15 round mags in 30-06. With 220 grain premium bullets I think that would do!
Old January 16, 2005, 07:06 PM   #5
Chindo18Z

Rich: I have ZERO personal experience with Grizzlies.

That said and if semi-auto / higher capacity is the goal...

MILSURP Romanian FPK Sniper from CDNN; $495 with iron sights, $595 w/ scope & iron sights.