The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 15, 2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Khaot1c

Lee Powder Measures

Has anyone had a chance to use the Lee Adjustable Charge Bar? Is it only for the Lee PRO Auto Disk Powder measure?
The Pro Auto-Disk measure does seem to be leaps and bounds better than the standard Auto-Disk measure that came with the Deluxe Reloading Kit. While I am very new to reloading, I understand the best way to ensure the exact amount of powder makes it to your cartridge is to use a trickler with a very accurate scale.
My overall goal is to more finely tune the amount of powder that goes into the cartridge while still maintaining some form of speed in the process. I’m not looking to shoot with competition level accuracy, but I do want a little more control in the process.
Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions and especially some feedback from you folks who use the Auto-Disk AND/OR the Adjustable Charge bar would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance folks.
Old September 16, 2008, 12:31 AM   #2
Mike Irwin
Staff

I have, and use, the adjustable charge bar.

One thing I found out about it was that it does not like small charges of powder for some reason.

Anything under about 4.5 to 5 grains of powder, of any type, results in pretty wide weight variations.

Once I hit the 5 grain mark, though, it gets really accurate.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old September 16, 2008, 05:49 AM   #3
ruger.john

I use the charge bar but only for W231, Bullseye and Trail Boss. It meters well and throws accurate charges with these powders. I use the disks for other powders except Unique which won't meter accurately with either. I find that the "pro" measure tends to leak a bit of powder whereas the cheaper one one was cleaner. I switched because the screws holding the hopper wouldn't hold any longer after a few months use.(Lee quality)