The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 27, 2013, 06:49 PM   #1
bbonner710

Help a noob and generate some good Karma...

I picked up an old Lee Loader for my Taurus 605 .357 at a flea market today for $7. It has everything except instructions and charge tables. The dipper in the kit is red and labeled "052". I could order the charge tables from Lee for $5, but being a total noob to reloading I wouldn't have half a clue what to do with them. Can anybody tell me a good powder/primer/bullet combo for self-protection that would work with the dipper in the kit? Thanks in advance for any help you offer.
Old July 27, 2013, 10:52 PM   #2
Sevens

I'd like to help, but you'll have to examine that dipper more closely and tell us if there's any more info on it. I haven't ever goofed with a Lee Loader kit but have had lots of experience with Lee dippers going back to the late 1980s when I first started. And back then and even still today, all the Lee dippers were bright yellow in color and the number on them is one expressed in "cc" and the dipper included with .38/.357 dies is the 0,5cc dipper.

Now all the clues in your post paint a picture of a guy who is quite money-challenged or one that squeezes a nickel until it bleeds. NO WORRIES! You are among friends here. But while I can try to help a guy on a shoestring budget, it sounds more like you want to do this on a budget that's about 1/20th of a shoe string and frankly... I don't see it happening.

If you can confirm that your "052" dipper is the same size as the Lee 0,5cc dipper than I'll be happy to tell you what was listed on their load sheet back in 1988. However, my load sheet is -ALL- .38 Special loads, and all are pretty reserved.

If ya wanna spend a little dough and get set up to reload properly, there's a slew of us that would be happy to offer suggestions, advice, and nasty ridicule too! (just a little joke, there)