The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 5, 2010, 09:38 AM   #1
gaseousclay

Hello, everyone. Noob here

hello, everyone. just thought i'd drop in and make my presence known.

I'm new to the world of firearms and am in need of shotgun advice. I'm currently researching shotguns as i've developed an interest in hunting, particularly, deer and pheasant. I've narrowed my choice down to the Remington 870 Wingmaster as my first gun purchase, however, I don't know the specifics of this gun to make an informed purchase. I've read that 'fit' is extremely important in determining which gun to buy - i've gone to several sporting goods stores and have held various shotguns in my hands. Should I go with a 26" barrel? 30"? what can I expect to pay for a used Wingmaster? I plan on taking some hunter safety/firearm safety courses before I actually buy a shotgun, but any advice would be appreciated.

btw, i'm based in SW Minneapolis so any gun store recommendations would be great. I've decided to avoid Gander Mtn and Dick's Sporting Goods since there appears to be absolutely no customer service with these stores. Should I go to Cabela's? are there any smaller mom & pop gun shops worth checking out in thw Twin Cities or in the 'burbs?

Thanks!
Old August 5, 2010, 09:43 AM   #2
DiscoRacing

Welcome to the forum... I have better luck with the smaller shops...like mom n pops
Old August 5, 2010, 01:08 PM   #3
zippy13

Greetings gasousclay, I join DiscoRacing in welcoming you aboard

The R-870 Wingmaster is a great choice for a first gun. Unfortunately, the majority of Remington pump buyers prefer the cheaper 870 Express model. This has resulted in Remington offering the Express in many variations and the Wingmaster in only two versions (standard and classic trap).