The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Harley Nolden Memorial Institute for Firearms Research

Old January 29, 2002, 11:26 AM   #1
Atlan T. Rex

"Mademoiselle" hand gun?

I’m not a gun expert, so sorry if I did not use the “right” terms.

I’m looking for informations about a gun called “mademoiselle” (probable name). It’s a hand gun, but the place where you hold it (the "handle"?) looks like a miniature of a rifle, but surely it is not intended to put against the shoulder, but hold it in the hand.

It looks like a flint pistol, like the ones used by the British sea service on starting of 1800, but the handle (?) and the barrel reminds me a riffle used in old western movies, but much smaller.

I don’t have any pictures of it… Does anyone knows something that could be associated to this gun? Or maybe a place where can I find a strange guns picture gallery?

Thanks a lot,

Atlan
Old January 30, 2002, 11:13 AM   #2
Johnny Guest
Moderator in Memoriam

Need a bit more information - -

- - to try to help.

Have you actually seen/held this firearm yourself? Do you have access to it? Any way you culd photograph it, prefereably with a digital camera, for ease in posting the photo(s?)

Is this a cartridge arm? If not, is it percussion or flintlock?

There's a wealth of talent on this board, and I'll bet someone will be able to help you.

Best,
Johnny
Old January 30, 2002, 03:40 PM   #3
Atlan T. Rex

Hi Johnny.
Sorry if I don't know the right terms, my native language is portuguese; but as long as I could understand the terms, it's a percurssion gun.

I hold it just for some moments, after a cheerfull lady had pointed it to my face. After I calmed her down, I returned the gun. The gun still fires, although it appears to be an old-fashioned piece.
I think it was not a large-scale produce gun; the handle had some engravings (branches and leaves), everything very well done (didn't appear to be home-made).