The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 2, 2009, 11:46 PM   #1
kargo27

Reloading .223 - a few questions

Hello all, I'm new here but looks like there are quite a few veteran reloaders here.

I am brand new to reloading and have some 5.56 and .223 brass.

Will magnum small rifle primers work in the .223? I don't plan on loading to 5.56 pressure.

I have a Lyman T-Mag press and it came with a Lyman reloading manual. I will shoot these reloads at the range only. No hunting. I bought some 55 gr. Remington 224 PSP bullets as well as some Winchester 224 55 gr. FMJBT.

My manual doesn't state which powder to use for these bullets but it does give me a recipe for 55 gr. PSP Hornady or Speer (I think. I don't have the manual in front of me). How can I figure out the best powder to use for these bullets?

I did go to Hodgdon's website and tried to cross reference my bullets but wasn't very successful.

Thanks for any tips.
Old September 3, 2009, 12:06 AM   #2
PCJim

Welcome to TFL!

Since you are "green" as a reloader, the answer to using those magnum primers will be a conditional "no". Unless the reloading recipe you are using calls for a magnum primer, stay with the standard primer or one specifically designated for .223.