The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 16, 2013, 06:07 PM   #1
sparetime

.38 load problems

I am relatively new to pistol reloading and wanted to try reloading for .38 special.

I started out loading up 100 or so loads with 158 grain Berry's round nose plated bullets and 6.0 grains of Blue Dot. The primers are Winchester.

I am looking for a target round, so the data for lead in a comparable bullet seemed appropriate. Also, the selection of Blue Dot was due to having it on hand.

The .38 rounds have been a problem however. I have had two squib load with the bullet getting stuck in the barrel. The first time it happened I thought maybe I made a mistake on properly charging the case with powder. So I brought it home and weighted quite a number of finished cartridges to determine if there was much variation in the loads. i found them to be generally within a grain or so, which I attributed to the mixed brands of brass I used.

Second trip to the range produced another squib load and stuck bullet. So this time I brought the rest of the loads home (First time, first shot was stuck, second time no. 4, so I haven't fired many round here) and pulled the bullets on at least 20, weighting the charge as I did so. There were some that got a little light of the 6.0 grains, but mostly they were at the 6.0 grains desired.

Any thoughts on what is causing my problems? I read that starting with lead data for the plated bullets was a good place to start.
Old November 16, 2013, 06:20 PM   #2
Valornor

Blue dot is a slower burning pistol powder that I have found doesn't work as well at starting loads. I would try bumping up the load and load a little under max. If you're dead set on Blue dot I might try switching to a magnum primer.