The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 17, 2013, 03:50 PM   #1
Mausermolt

9mm home rolled junk

ive been reloading for about 8 years now and the one caliber ive never been able to really get good accurate loads with is the 9mm luger. been through 3 different pistols that i just got frustrated with and traded off because i could get good home rolled rounds to shoot worth a darn! it really tweaks my melon when i go buy a box of cheep-o WWB that shoots better than what i made. ive tried 115 grn 124's 147's WSF, WIN231, in every combination of charge weight and bullet combo you can think of. anyone that is a Luger pro help me out? maybe i just need to try a different powder? i like 231 alot in my 1911 45auto and thats why i wanted to make it work. buddy of mine has a M9 that really like WSF so i duplicated some of his loads to no avail. the pistols that i had were: S and W 469, Ruger P85MKII and a Hungarian Hi-Power Clone. any suggestions?
Old March 17, 2013, 04:07 PM   #2
Jerry45

I haven't reloaded 9 mm. in years but when I did was using 125 gr. LRN over 231. It was more accurate than I was. Sorry but I don't remember the load. I believe it was 3.2 or 3.5 gr. but please, please, please check the manual I'm at work and don't have one available.

Those were shot out of a S&W 39 and S&W 915.

Just checked Hodgdon's site.

125 GR. LCN Winchester 231 .356" 1.125" 3.9 1009 25,700 CUP 4.4 1086 31,200 CUP

Must have been 3.5. I was loading light for practice.

Last edited by Jerry45; March 17, 2013 at 04:18 PM.
Old March 17, 2013, 04:26 PM   #3
chris in va

I get acceptable accuracy with a Lee 356-125-2r mold and my CZ. Come to think of it I haven't shot a FMJ out of it yet.
Old March 17, 2013, 05:09 PM   #4
reynolds357

9mm has always loaded sufficiently accurate for me. I shoot them action, not bulls eye.
Old March 17, 2013, 05:36 PM   #5
chiefr